This article discusses tasks you must perform to make sure that if you change the location of the ProxyClient 3.1 cache, the directory can be accessed by users on the computer and so that if you uninstall the ProxyClient, the cache directory is deleted.
By default, the ProxyClient 3.1 stores CIFS cache and byte cache files in the following locations:
- Windows XP:
%SystemDrive%\Documents and Settings\LocalService\Local Settings\Application Data\Blue Coat\Blue Coat ProxyClient
- Windows Vista:
%SystemDrive%\Windows\system32\config\systemprofile\AppData\Local\Blue Coat\Blue Coat ProxyClient
If %SystemDrive% is full or if you wish to relocate the cache directory to a secondary hard disk, use the following steps:
- Open a registry editor and browse to the following key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Blue Coat Systems\ProxyClient
- Verify there is a registry value named
CacheDirectory of type
REG_SZ (that is, String). If not, create the key.
This key specifies the location of the ProxyClient cache.
When choosing an alternate cache directory, use the following guidelines:
- You cannot use a network drive or a removable drive as the cache directory.
- You should choose an empty directory.
Note: If you install the ProxyClient using the command line, you can specify the value of this registry key using a command similar to the following. For more information, see the chapter on the ProxyClient in Volume 5, Advanced Networking, in the SGOS Configuration and Management Guide.
ProxyClientSetup.msi /qr BCSI_UPDATEURL=https://mysg.example.com:8084/proxyclient/ProxyClientConfig.xml REINSTALL=ALL REINSTALLMODE=vamus FORCEREBOOT=no REBOOTTIME=30 REGISTRYSETTINGS="CacheDirectory:REG_SZ:D:\BCCacheDir"
If the new cache directory is not empty, note the following:
- For a directory to be used as the cache, make sure the
SYSTEM user has Full Control permissions on the parent directory.
- If you set the cache directory to
D:\CifsDir, for example, the permissions on the
D:\CifsDir are changed and no one, including the administrator, can access the directory.
When the ProxyClient software is uninstalled, subdirectories of that directory that are created by the ProxyClient are not deleted.
To perform any action on those files (including allowing a user to access them or delete them), the administrator must change the permissions on that directory.
- If instead you set the cache directory to
D:\CifsDir will be still be accessible by users on the computer, and during uninstall
subdirectory will be deleted.